The Exhibition and Event Association of Australasia (EEAA) is delivering an important end-of-year event program, featuring three key events that will be broadcast live on Tuesday, 8 December in a hybrid format from the International Convention Centre, Sydney.

The event program will feature international guest commentators and senior leaders from the exhibition and business events community, mark the important people achievements of 2020 via the EEAA Awards for Excellence and celebrate the return of face-to-face events in 2021.

The event program includes:

  • The EEAA Annual General Meeting and election of the EEAA Executive Committee
  • An invitation-only CEO Forum
  • The 2020 EEAA Awards for Excellence (featuring two award categories) and end of year celebration

The event program will run in a hybrid format and include in-person attendance at ICC Sydney and a live broadcast via the ICC Sydney world-class production facilities – offering the option for virtual attendance by EEAA members and non-members across Australia.

About the events:

1 to 2pm: Annual General Meeting – The EEAA AGM will take place at the ICC Sydney Parkside Ballroom for current EEAA Members only. The Agenda will include a report from the EEAA President, Election of Members for the EEAA Board, receipt and adoption of the EEAA Financial Statements and the EEAA Gold and Platinum Partner presentation.

There are five EEAA Executive Committee positions up for nomination this year, made up of two Organiser positions, two Venue positions and 1 Supplier position. We received nine nominations for these positions, as follows:

Venue category: Simon Burgess, Adelaide Convention Centre; Elissa Duke, Melbourne Convention and Exhibition Centre; James Granter, Luna Park Sydney; and Helen Mantellato, ICC Sydney.

Supplier category:  Shaun Rae, ExpoNet; and Libbie Ray, Connected Event Group.

Organiser category: David Longman, Diversified Communications Australia; Matt Pearce, Talk2 Media and Events and Steven Yee, Supanova Pop Culture Industries Pty Ltd.

Login to the Members Only section of the EEAA website for more information and how to vote.

2 to 5pm: CEO Forum – The CEO Forum will feature international guest speakers and bring together senior executives and key decision makers from the business events industry to provide a platform to discuss the issues and opportunities for the sector. The meeting will include high-level panel discussion around the potential structural changes, industry trends and rebuilding the industry in 2021 and beyond. The CEO Forum is by invitation only.

5.30 to 7.30pm: EEAA 2020 Awards for Excellence and end of Year Celebration – The EEAA 2020 Awards will feature two categories only this year: the Ungerboeck Richard Geddes Young Achiever Award and the Richard Geddes Young Achiever Scholarship and the Unsung Hero Award, focusing on the people who have made a significant contribution to their company and the industry.  The end of year celebration will feature the awards presentations and the opportunity to network with the industry.


Date: Tuesday, 8 December 2020

AGM: 12:45pm – 2:00pm, Free to attend – EEAA Members only can attend

CEO Forum: 2:00pm – 5:00pm,  $150 + GST in-person (includes attendance at the EEAA 2020 Awards and Networking session); $75 +GST virtual. By invitation only.

Awards: 5:30pm to  7:30pm, $75 + GST for Members in-person, $100 + GST for Non-Members in-person. Free for virtual.

Venue: ICC Sydney, Parkside Ballroom,14 Darling Dr, Sydney NSW 2000

Dress Code: AGM and CEO Forum – Business Attire. Awards for Excellence – Cocktail for Women, Lounge Suite for Men

Registrations to attend the three events are available via the Eventspass ticketing platform.


In-line with COVID-19 Safety Protocols, registration to all three events is essential.

The EEAA thanks their Platinum supporting partner the International Convention Centre Sydney and supporting partners Coleman Group, Eventspass, Sprintr by AV1, Tourism Australia, Skills IQ, Ungerboeck, Cloudprint Group, Melbourne Convention and Exhibition Centre and Orlando Sydney.


The Exhibition and Event Association of Australasia’s Awards for Excellence celebrates outstanding achievement within the exhibition and event industry.

The impact of COVID-19 on the exhibitions and business events industry in 2020 has been monumental. However, despite restrictions on running face-to-face events, many of our Member organisations have innovated, reformulating their business operations and their teams in order to survive, and working together for the good of the exhibition and events community.

As a result, this year the EEAA will run two award categories only, that focus on the people who have made a significant contribution to their company and the industry.

The two award categories are:

  • Ungerboeck Richard Geddes Young Achiever Award 
  • Unsung Hero Award

There are a range of sponsorship opportunities available that will really help us to make this a very special event. View the Sponsor Prospectus here.


Entries must be for Member initiatives that occurred between 1 October 2019 to 30 October 2020. All nominees must be working with a Member organisation of the EEAA.

For full details on eligibility and criteria, download the Entry Kit here.


We look forward to celebrating your achievements.


Entries open – 1 October 2020
Entries close – 30 October 2020 (AEST 5pm), Late entries will be received to 6 November 2020 (AEST 5pm)
Finalists announced – early November
EEAA AGM, Awards and End of Year Celebration – 8 December 2020


We invite you to help us create this important end of year celebration in early December. We have a range of sponsorship opportunities available. Download our Sponsorship Prospectus from the Document Downloads section or access the Prospectus here.

Your support will be promoted before, during and after the event, allowing your organisation the opportunity to stand out in our network of Members.

Thank you for working with us to continue to raise the profile of this very important industry. For sponsorship enquiries, please call us on 612 9413 9520.

See the photo gallery for the 2019 EEAA Awards for Excellence.