By Exhibition and Event Association of Australasia , 28 May, 2019

The Exhibition and Event Association of Australasia (EEAA) today announced a strong line-up of nominations for the 2019-2020 EEAA Executive Committee.

The Association’s Annual General Meeting will be held on Thursday 6 June in Melbourne as the last component of the two-day EEAA 2019 Leaders Forum and Conference being held to coincide with Global Exhibitions Day.

EEAA Chief Executive, Joyce DiMascio, said nominations were called for eight Executive Committee positions from the Organiser, Association, Venue and Supplier categories. 10 nominations were received and a ballot would be held in the Association and Venue categories.

Peter Thorpe, Sydney Showground and Jo-Anne Kelleway, Info Salons did not renominate for another term.

“Both Peter and Jo-Anne have made an extraordinary contribution to the Association over many years – with their departure we have the opportunity to introduce fresh faces to the Board.”

Nominations for the EEAA Board positions create healthy competition amongst our Members who are keen for a role on the board. To have such strong interest is very positive for the Association.” said Joyce DiMascio.

Nominations were called for across four categories as follows:

Association Organiser category: there are two nominations to fill one position and a ballot will be held. Nominees are: Chris Muir, Gaming Technologies Association and Jan Van Dyk, Australian Dental Industry Association.

Venue category: there are three nominations to fill two positions. Candidates are Nigel Keen, Perth Convention and Exhibition Centre, Robert O’Keeffe, Brisbane Convention and Exhibition Centre and Kathy Saville, Merivale.

Supplier category: there were three nominations to fill three positions, the nominees will be declared elected at the AGM. The nominees are: Paul Elliott, Harry the hirer; Chris Schlueter, Sprintr by AV1; Felicity Zadro, Zadro.

Organiser category: Spiro Anemogiannis, Informa Australia and Brian Thomas, Reed Exhibitions Australia were nominated to fill two positions and both will be declared as elected at the AGM.

Joyce DiMascio said the two days would also be filled with outstanding networking and learning.

“The EEAA Leaders Forum and Conference feature a strong speaker line-up including influential international leaders in Margaret Ma Connolly from Informa Markets in Asia, Stephanie Selesnick from International Trade Information, Inc., along with John O’Sullivan from Tourism Australia, Christian Von Reventlow from Telstra and Paul Bloxham from HSBC.”

Registrations for the Leaders Forum, Conference and AGM are open through to Friday 31 May via the EEAA Website.

Joyce DiMascio thanked all candidates who took part in the nomination process and encouraged all EEAA Members to attend the Annual General Meeting to cast their vote.

Source: EEAA