"Since joining the program, I have met some truly amazing people and made some great connections."

Young members

The Exhibition and Event Association of Australasia (EEAA) supports and nurtures the growth and development of the industry’s future leaders through its Young Stars Program.

Young Stars Program

The EEAA Young Stars Program gives the Association’s youngest members a platform to share their views, ideas and experiences, as well as to have a bigger voice in the work of the Association. Launched in 2012, the program offers a tier of activities tailored specifically to engage under 35-year-olds within the Association’s membership with the aim of building a strong community, ensuring the sustainability of the Association, as well as for nurturing young talent in the world of exhibitions and events.

The program gives its members the opportunity to be involved in:

  • the Young Stars and Leaders Table Series, which provides networking opportunities, face-to-face mentoring and advice from industry leaders
  • personal and professional development seminars on topics such as personal brands, leadership, negotiation and presentation skills
  • specially designed workshops delivered as part of EEAA’s annual conference
  • events held alongside industry events, where Young Stars can give their opinions on industry topics and make their voice heard.
  • the EEAA Awards for Excellence, with a category dedicated to the industry’s young achievers.

The Young Stars Program is generously supported by Tourism Australia, which became the program’s inaugural Platinum Partner in mid-2016, and Ungerboeck Software International as the program’s Gold Partner.

Upcoming EEAA Young Stars Events

Click here to view the upcoming EEAA events including any scheduled Young Stars events.

Meet the EEAA Young Stars Committee

The EEAA Young Stars Program has a dedicated volunteer committee of Young Stars at the helm to assist the Association with creating opportunities for younger workers in exhibitions and events to learn and develop.

We are currently receiving expressions for interest for our 2018 Committee, if you are interested, please email Joyce on jdimascio@eeaa.com.au or Gretel on gambrose@eeaa.com.au.

Chair and Deputy Chair of the Committee

Cathy Hammond

Exhibitions & Trade Fairs

Kay Badakhsh

Australian Turf Club

Committee members

Amrita Dip

Melbourne Convention and Exhibition Centre

Roslyn du Plooy

Melbourne Convention and Exhibition Centre

Cathy Hammond

Exhibition & Trade Fairs

Trish Jacoby


Dominic Le Roy


Kara Palmieri


Jasmine Pohl

Adelaide Convention Centre

Alyssa Pullar

Exhibitions & Events Australia

Alana Smith

Exhibition & Trade Fairs

Chris Muir

Gaming Technologies AssociationAssociation Organiser member

Meet the EEAA Young Stars mentors 

Since the launch of the Young Stars Program in July 2012, EEAA has provided exclusive opportunities for our young members to be mentored by industry leaders. They include:

Beverley Parker

ICC SydneyDirector of Business Development

Minnie Constan

Fine Food ExhibitionsEvent Director

Paul Constantinou

Quest Apartment HotelsChairman and founder

John Trevillian

NSW GovernmentFormer Executive Director of Protocol and Special Events

David Elia


Harvey Lister

AEG OgdenChairman and CEO

Julia Erben

Reed ExhibitionsEvent Director

Kate Smith

Waldronsmith ManagementManaging Director

Christopher Barlow

Melbourne Convention BureauChairman

Penny Lion

Business Events AustraliaGeneral Manager

Debbie Evans

Reed Exhibitions, South East Asia/AustraliaPresident

Peter Rix

George P. Johnson (Australia)Managing Director

Craig Sheridan APM

Counter Terrorism Consultant

Matt Pearce

Talk2 Media and EventsOrganiser member

Guy Blomberg

ReedPOPContent Manager

Paul Baker


Helen Mantellato

International Convention Centre SydneyVenue member

Recognising the industry’s young achievers

The EEAA is dedicated to recognising and celebrating excellence in the industry. This commitment extends to honouring the industry’s rising stars as part of its annual Awards for Excellence program. The Richard Gedes Young Achiever Award acknowledges and rewards young employees who have excelled in their work, attitude, leadership and commitment – our industry’s future leaders.

In 2018, the winner of the annual Richard Geddes Young Achiever Award will receive a major prize sponsored by Tourism Australia.

The 2018 Richard Geddes Young Achiever will travel to Tokyo to attend the Global Association for the Exhibition Industry’s (UFI) Asia-Pacific Conference from 14–15 March 2019.

The scholarship is part of an expanded partnership between Tourism Australia and the Exhibition and Event Association of Australasia (EEAA) to support the careers of young people working in our industry.

2017 award recipients

Craig Mather

Ungerboeck International

2016 award recipients

Anne-Marie Mina

Exhibitions and Trade Fairs

James Kennedy

Exhibit Systems

2015 award recipients

Stephanie Bleakley

Diversified Communications Australia

Daniel Condon


2014 award recipients

Lauren Milledge

Sydney Showground



Robyn Gardner

Diversified Communications

Amy Schwab

Reed Exhibitions Australia

Jonathan Whyman

Reed Exhibitions Australia