By Exhibition and Event Association of Australasia , 14 August, 2018

The Exhibition and Event Association of Australasia (EEAA) has called for nominations for its prestigious 2018 Awards for Excellence with the winners to be presented at ICC Sydney on 5 December.

The contest to find the best industry success stories for 2018 has opened with improvements to the judging process that will make it simpler for entrants and judges and will better align the awards program with international standards.

EEAA Chief Executive, Joyce DiMascio, said the Association was committed to ensuring the awards program set a benchmark for excellence within the business events industry and the continued evolution was important to delivering on this commitment.

“Each year, we continue to refine the entry process and this year we have simplified the assessment criteria for the five “Show” categories and added a renewed focus on corporate social responsibility.

“We are also publishing the weighting for each criterion to provide more transparency,” Ms DiMascio said.

To internationally benchmark the industry’s performance, the new criteria for the “Show” categories will now be aligned with the awards run by the Association of Event Organisers (AEO) in the UK.

“We want to give the industry the best opportunity to showcase their best work and people to our panel of over 35 Australian and international judges.”

The awards program offers 21 categories, providing the opportunity for show organisers, suppliers, venues, teams and companies to showcase their achievements. It also includes three categories specifically designed to recognise the personal achievements of individuals.

The award categories which recognise individuals are:

  • The Richard Geddes Young Achiever Award – recognising the bright young stars in our industry and emerging leaders
  • The Unsung Hero Award – recognising those who have a profound impact on the industry, but may fly under the radar, and
  • The Innovation Champion Award – recognising the drivers of innovation – the quiet and not-so-quiet achievers who push for change.

“Our awards are designed to appeal to the entire cross-section of the EEAA Membership and give everybody an opportunity to put their work in the spotlight,” Ms DiMascio said.

“From our brightest young talent through to the stalwarts of the industry, we give you the opportunity to acknowledge and celebrate the achievements of your colleagues.

“If you know somebody who should be celebrated, give them the recognition they deserve and nominate them for the 2018 awards.”

The EEAA has prepared an entry kit to guide entrants through the entry process and provide helpful tips about the awards and the judging process.

“After the success of 2017, the awards will be administered online, from entry to judging. We encourage you to check out the Awards Portal to log in or register and start planning your entries – these can be saved at any stage and you can continue to edit them until the submission deadline.” Ms DiMascio said.

The EEAA Awards for Excellence are a highlight of the business event industry calendar. Each year, they celebrate the achievements of EEAA Members and honour the existing and future leaders of our industry – the shows, venues, suppliers, teams and individuals that have excelled in their field and are beacons of innovation, passion, leadership and commitment.


Entries open – 13 August 2018

Entries close – 21 September 2018

Finalists Announced – Early November

Awards night – 5 December 2018 – to be held at ICC Sydney

Source: EEAA